Chicago Bears Tommie Harris Named Recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award

LAKE FOREST, Ill. – Defensive tackle Tommie Harris on Thursday was named the Bears’ recipient of the 2007 Ed Block Courage Award. The prestigious award is presented to one player on all 32 NFL teams who best exemplifies a commitment to sportsmanship and courage and serves as an inspiration in the locker room.The recipients of the award, who are voted on by their teammates, symbolize professionalism, great strength and dedication, and they are considered community role models.

“It’s good to announce Tommie Harris as the Ed Block Courage Award winner,” said coach Lovie Smith. “He does a lot in the community. It’s good to see how he came back from a major injury also and is having a good season for us right now.”

Harris has recovered from a hamstring injury that forced him to miss the last four games of the 2006 regular season and the playoffs to lead the team in sacks with a career-high seven in the first half of the 2007 season. Harris has 12 sacks dating back to last season, tied with Warren Sapp for most in the NFL by a defensive tackle during that time span.

“Tommie’s a very fine young man,” said Patrick McCaskey, Bears’ senior director of special projects. “He’s very deserving of the Ed Block Courage Award. He has worked very diligently and assiduously to recover from his injury from last season. He’s playing through injuries this season. He certainly is very courageous.”

Ed Block was a long-time head trainer with the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his field. The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation promotes the prevention of child abuse by raising awareness of the epidemic and assisting agencies that provide for the care and treatment of abused children in communities throughout the NFL.

The Ed Block Courage Award has been given annually to a player on each team in the NFL since 1984. Current Bears who have won the award include quarterback Rex Grossman (2006), guard Ruben Brown (2005), guard Roberto Garza (2004 with Atlanta), wide receiver Muhsin Muhammad (2000 with Carolina), assistant defensive backs coach Gill Byrd (1988 with San Diego) and linebackers coach Hardy Nickerson (1992 with Pittsburgh and 1999 with Tampa Bay).



Published in: on November 5, 2007 at 10:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: