More from Roy Ramirez on KRPT “Indians to Indians for SW Oklahoma” Radio Show

Roy Ramirez shared:

“I had the honor of being one of Jerome’s Pall Bearers at the service. I hold the honor blanket the family presented me as a special gift and treasure . The honor blanket, along with his hat and other special items the family passed to me are held in ‘a place of honor’ in my home. I was unable to attend the dinner afterwards due to a commercial I was taping the next morning in Dallas. As a result I missed that special event.

Roy shares, “Before I met Jerome…”

I’d started my radio career by ‘being one of the first on the air’ in Anadarko on station KRPT. One of the programs we instituted was the “Indians to Indians for Southwest Oklahoma” program. It was amazing to see as many as 40 performers and singers arrive and perform live in a space about 30 X 30 feet each Saturday. That’s where I first met artists like Doc Tate, Woogie, and Lincoln Tartsa.

One of the hosts, Louis Satoka, was also an artist. He and the other host, a gentleman named Adolphus Goombi, would be exchanging friendly jabs at each other and soon they’d start comparing tribal talents. Adolphus would make a statement about the Wichita tribe and Louis would jab back at Adolphus’ tribe (Caddo, as best recalled). Each would claim to have the highest number of champion dancers, best singers, and most talented artists.

They’d go on by saying, ‘our tribe has this artist, that dancer and etc., etc…’ A number of times I’d hear Jerome’s name pop up in the conversation. I never asked who he was. It never really seemed to matter at that time. One Saturday, as the group was filing in, they were discussing the upcoming Oklahoma State Fair. They said that they were expecting to try and do a live show from the fairgrounds, if it could all be arranged. Also, they’d need permission from the fair and Jerome Bushyhead. In trying to put it together, I had to make contacts in Oklahoma City. So, I asked, “Who is Jerome Bushyhead and how will I recognize him? They both looked at each other, kind of smiled and chuckled, then turned to me and said, “You’ll know him once you see him.”

The show from the state fair never developed any further than the talking stage. As Jerome might say, “Indian time took over, and it was not to be.” So, I missed that early opportunity to meet my brother. When we finally did meet, this six foot ten and a half inch massive giant, proved to be the most sincere, gentle person I had ever met.”

BOOK: A Companion to the Anthropology of American Indians Written By Thomas Biolsi

an excerpt from the book: …. One might consider, for example, how the recording industry and broadcast radio have affected the process of adaptation and change. In southwestern Oklahoma, for instance, every Saturday morning, the radio station KRPT hosts a show entitled “Indians for Indians,” which often features Indian music of all kinds and styles. Kiowa and other native singers often use the medium to introduce the latest singing group, share new songs, or present alternate song renditions. Similarly, many American Indian communities have their own radio stations (such as Navajo Nation Radio KTNN) where negotiations about the adaptations and changes of music (in addition to a host of other issues) are played out on a daily basis….

http://books.google.com/books?id=ry_9ZWXgwyUC&pg=PA206&lpg=PA206&dq=Indians+to+Indians+for+Southwest+Oklahoma+radio+show+KRPT&source=web&ots=9Ci9QaEwdX&sig=cETmTGBNcw58hHkVvL0mPcMiIV0&hl=en&sa=X&oi=book_result&resnum=2&ct=result

A Companion to the Anthropology of American Indians – Google Books Result

by Thomas Biolsi – 2004 – Social Science – 567 pages
In southwestern Oklahoma, for instance, every Saturday morning, the radio station KRPThosts a show entitled “Indians for Indians,” which often features
books.google.com/books?isbn=0631226869

A note from Cheryl: I’m not sure if this is the Adolphus Goombi that Roy spoke of, but thought it was worth noting:

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~okcaddo/cemeteries/ftcobbak.txt

This information is offered FREE and taken from http://www.rootsweb.com/~okcaddo/ccpage.htm

================================================

Fort Cobb, Caddo County, Oklahoma

Canvassed by Jim & Pat Tustison 2003.

The Caddo County Genealogical Society has

digital pictures for this cemetery on file

ccgs73005@yahoo.com

=================================================

SURNAME, GIVEN NAMEBIRTH DATEDEATH DATE

Goombi, Adolphus: 01 Apr 191004 Mar 1987




Published in: on July 10, 2008 at 11:04 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bymyart.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/more-from-roy-ramirez-on-krpt-indians-to-indians-for-sw-oklahoma-radio-show/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I came in and helped Louis and Dolphus with the show when I used to come up for the summers when I was in my early teens. That is also where I met Roy. Louis and my Grand Pa (Adolphus)were hilarious. I used to hang around with both of them when they operated the Community Action Council in the building (their former restraunt) that was below Dolphus’ house at Indian Canyon just south of Fort Cobb, Oklahoma. I wondered if they were really there to help folks or just to sit around and crack on each other. What Roy and the radio audience heard was very tame compared to some of the stuff they said when they were by themselves. Those two old guys were crazy! Anyway, The Adolphus Goombi that is on your list is the very same person of which Roy was speaking. The lady listed just above him, Cynthia, was my Grand Mother, his wife. If you ever get in touch with Roy, tell him that Adolphus Goombi was all Kiowa not Caddo. Feel free to contact me or just google me if you have any questions.

    Jay


Leave a Reply

